Between the Durance and the Luberon, discover Lauris, a beautiful Provencal village recognizable among all on its rocky spur.
Located in the heart of Provence, this destination is worth a visit and will reveal its treasures and various facets with its authentic old village with flowering alleys, its conservatory garden of tinctorial plants on the terraces of the castle.
The statue of Joseph Garnier was erected in honor of Joseph Garnier in 1891 for the thank you for his leg of a part of his fortune that served to carry out many projects.
The old oil mill marks the entrance of the old village. When the latter was extended to the 18th century, the communal oil mill was built against the wall of the 17th century.
The fountain of the duck, in fact a swan, is emblematic of Lauris. It was built in 1853 and ramified at the beginning of the 20th century.The public washhouse, which is part of historical monuments, dates from the 19th century. It was built on the former cemetery found on the cadastral plan of 1731.
The church of Notre Dame de la Purification
A first church was built on this site in 1480. It was a small single-ship building. Having become too cramped and dilapidated, a new church was built between 1702 and 1708 according to the plans of the Aix architect, Vallon. The wrought iron cage ('gabie' in Provençal dates back to 1857 and was designed by Sollier) .
On House can discover on this building two beautiful façades recently renovated. The left one dates from 1782. It is the most sober facade with lintels, a cornice and a main porch with falling garlands. The right one dates from 1898 and is decorated with a harp and Irish clover. The owner of the premises was then colonel of the 175th Irish Infantry Regiment.
The Philippine Tower
This building built in the 13th century has two germinated windows. A peacock tail decor and other germinated windows are partly hidden by an elevation. This building has always been called 'Tour Philippe' in memory of Philippe de Lambesc, valiant lord of the 14th century. It was in the 19th century that it was nicknamed 'Queen Jeanne's House' .
This beautiful building succeeded in the early 18th century to an intial building of the late 15th century. This site is a good example of the consequences of the tax on doors and windows set up in 1798 by the Executive Board. In fact, it can be seen that many openings were blocked by the owners in order to pay less tax.
The castle square
A monumental 18th century portal and its wheelhunters give access to the courtyard where part of the common (stables) survives. This entrance suggests what was the castle of Jean-Louis d'Arlatan, destroyed at the Revolution.The Place du Portal
This square was created in the 18th century when Jean-Louis d'Arlatan, last lord of Lauris, built a monumental gate at the level of the old oil mill. Until then, and since 1540, the entrance door to the village known as de la Frache was located at the height of the house known as de Garde.
The conservatory garden of tinctorial plants
This unique site in Europe presents more than 250 species of plants from which dyes are extracted for the manufacture of inks, paints and dyes.
The terraces of the castle
The arcades of support were installed in the 17th century by Julien de Pérussis, lord of Lauris. The terraces are decorated with 18th-century fountains and basins, and have been classified as a remarkable garden since 2011. They are composed of the Garden Conservatory of Tinctoriales Plants and the white garden. The latter is called this because only white flowering plants have been installed there. There is a magnificent view of the Durance valley, the Sainte-Victoire mountain and the Alpilles.The castle in the 12th century, a small dungeon was built on the cliff above the plain. Then a castle gradually formed around. This strategic location was used to monitor the Durance and the territories opposite.
Discover our editions of the Luberon Heart of Provence to prepare your weekend and holidays: guide, accommodation, hiking...Order