At the crossroads of the Monts de Vaucluse and the Luberon, located in the heart of the dry stone country, the picturesque village of Cabrières d "Avignon has kept its authentic character.
Cabrières d'Avignon, a pretty village located at the foot of the Monts de Vaucluse, offers two faces to discover. The one of “Provence cultivated” in the plain of Calavon (cherry trees, almond trees, olive trees, vines, etc.) and the one of Provence rough and dry, smelling good scrubland dotted with bories, needles and apiers (walls of bees dug in the restanques).
One of the leaders of the Vaud resistance, Eustache Marron, settled there and made him his fief. In 1545, as in many villages in the Luberon, the inhabitants of Cabrières suffered the massacre of the Vaudois. Despite their entrenchment in the castle, 400 to 500 people will be killed and the village will be razed. Eustache Marron will be executed in Avignon, for example.
In 1720, the plague returned to Provence from Marseille. A “sanitary” wall in dry stone is built from Monieux to Lagnes, passing through Cabrières, to prevent the spread of the epidemic. This wall is still standing and a walk has been arranged throughout its course. The plague of 1720, known as Marseille, caused the death of a large part of the population in Provence.
To protect the Comtat Venaissin, a 'Wall of the Plague' was built in the Monts de Vaucluse. Built of dry stone, it stretched 27 kilometres and was about 2 metres high. Nowadays, 6 km remain between Cabrières d'Avignon and Lagnes.
A singular cedar forest from the seeds of the High Atlas, was sown at the end of the 19th century.
Five hectares of majestic cedar trees extend north of the commune and offer a space for relaxation and freshness. Starting point for multiple hikes, health trails and a well-appointed picnic spot, this area is a highly recommended stop after visiting the village.
“Pays des goats” is the meaning of the Provençal name of Cabrières, which took its definitive name only in 1918. The castle probably dates from the 11th century and was built by the Adhémar family. In the 16th century, Cabrières became seigneury of the Duke of Caderousse, who brought in, after the plagues of the 15th century, Vaud families from Piedmont.
Discover our editions of the Luberon Heart of Provence to prepare your weekend and holidays: guide, accommodation, hiking...Order